Kogi 2023: Setback for Dino Melaye, as PDP leaders joins Yahaya Bello’s camp






Members of the PDP from Igalamela/Odolu Local Government Area of Kogi state has defected to the ruling APC under the leadership of Governor Yahaya Bello.

The defectors were led to Bello’s office on Monday by former caretaker Chairman of Igalamela LGA, Alhaji Abdullahi Ibrahim, alongside Mr Adama Sani and Aikoye Anu, and other defectors from Ajaka Ward one and two.

Other notable PDP leaders who also defected to the APC included former President of the PDP National Youth Movement, Ahmed Mahmud, and Saidatu Ogohi, the Ajaka Ward 1 Women Leader.

The governor, who received the defectors at Government House Lokoja, expressed appreciation to them for recognizing the achievements of his administration and for choosing to join the APC.

He emphasized that the APC, being a progressive party, welcomed all individuals who were willing to contribute to the development of the state.

The governor assured the former PDP members that they would have equal rights and opportunities within the APC, just like the existing members.

Speaking on behalf of the defectors, Abdullahi pledged their support for the APC governorship candidate, Usman Ododo against Dino Melaye and other opponents in the upcoming Kogi 2023 elections.

Abdullahi explained that their decision to join the APC was based on the remarkable achievements of the current administration, which had positively impacted on all local government areas in Kogi.

He specifically highlighted the rehabilitation of the Umomi-Akpagidigbo-Ugwolawo-Ajaka-Idah road, saying it was a significant infrastructure project in Igalamela.

Abdullahi further mentioned that Bello’s accomplishments had led to an influx of opposition party members joining the APC, and they were determined not to be left behind.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *